Forbes Top 100 Sites for Women 2012

New TSA Rule Requires New Identifications From Nine States

October 9th, 2017

With the way the world is today, it pays to be extra careful when traveling by airplane. By extra careful, I mean you have to make sure that you are always up-to-date with the latest rules set forth by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) as well as your corresponding airlines and destinations. Yes, it can be tough to keep everything in order, but with a little preparation, you will be ready to go to your next destination with no worries.

New TSA Rule Requires New Identifications From Nine States

flying, tsa, New TSA Rule Requires New Identifications From Nine States

Travel+Leisure is reporting that residents of nine U.S. states will not be able to travel with their current driver’s license as a form of identification. Residents of Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington will need to present an alternate form of identification while traveling. This includes a permanent resident card, a passport or military ID for both domestic and international destinations.

You can thank the REAL ID Act of 2005 that was enacted on May 11, 2005 for the big change. Congress passed this law which modifies U.S. federal law pertaining to security, authentication, and issuance procedures standards for the state driver’s licenses and identity documents, as well as various immigration issues pertaining to terrorism.

The law sets forth requirements for state driver’s licenses and ID cards to be accepted by the federal government for “official purposes”, as defined by the Secretary of the United States Department of Homeland Security.

It’s worth noting that the law doesn’t take place until 2018 and there’s still time for the aforementioned states to comply with the new TSA rules.

Do you think flying is starting to be more of a hassle than what it’s worth? Let me know in the comments or tweet me @lorenridinger.

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑